Pretty excited to finally get an old watch restored...

Started by Jims5543, September 10, 2016, 06:26:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jims5543

In 1984, when I graduated high school, my Grandfather gave me a Heuer Diving watch as a graduation present. He was tickled that I was left handed and thought it was the coolest thing ever. He was also a HUGE influence on me as a kid growing up, essentially, without a father to guide me. My mom (my grandfathers daughter) married her high school sweetheart in a shotgun wedding  and the guy she married was a punk.  Was pushed through HS to get him out of their hair and was, to be brutally honest, worthless.

So my grandfather, who lived across the street from our rental when I was a child, took me under his wing and made sure I had a positive father figure to look up to. He taught me how to swing a golf club, how to shake hands like a confident man, to hold doors for woman, to stand up when they leave the table.  He taught me how to navigate a formal dinner setting and taught me how to be a gentleman. Something my father would never be able to teach. He was busy riding in a motorcycle gang, dealing drugs, selling fenced goods and getting high all the time.

When I was 18 I had no idea what this watch was, nor was it explained to me, I just wore it like a Timex and abused it.  After about a year or two the second hand came loose and it needed to be re-attached, I had no idea I needed to seek out a qualified repair person.  I took it to a mall jewelry store to have it fixed, if the repair guy had a conscious, he would have told me what to do, instead he tried to repair the watch and did not water proof it properly, he charged me (at 20 years old) a fortune for fix it too.  I jump in my cousins pool a few weeks later and the watch gets water in it.

I was pissed and frustrated and threw the watch in a sock drawer and forgot about it.